The History of Scaldwell
The name Scaldwell is derived from the Danish "Scald" meaning shallow and the Saxon "Weile" meaning spring, and the village is first mentioned in the Domesday Book, although there is archeological evidence in the form of Roman pottery kilns and a hoard of 6th century loom weights to show earlier occupation.
The village lies approximately 8 miles from the towns of Northampton, Market Harborough, Kettering and Wellingborough, and is a peaceful and picturesque place built largely of Northamptonshire Stone and having a village green at the centre. On the green is a well that was still in use until the 1950’s and which has stones inset to commemorate two reconstructions. Also on the green is a memorial to the men of Scaldwell who fell in the Great War; this was placed to mark the centenary of the end of the war in 2018,
Throughout most of Scaldwell’s existence its lifeblood has been agriculture, but between 1913 and 1963 it was the headquarters of the local ironstone quarrying company. During this time narrow gauge steam locomotives could be seen running across its fields and between the edge of the village and the Harborough Road an aerial ropeway also carried ore. However restoration has been so good that strangers to the area would now see no evidence of it ever having been there.
This link will take you to the Industrial Railway Society's site and a particular page with details about the Scaldwell railway http://www.irsociety.co.uk/Archives/60/Ironstone.htm
The parish church of St Peter and Paul has a 12th Century tower, with the main structure belonging to the late 13thcentury with 15th and 19th century additions.